2018 Grassy Hill Kerrville New Folk Award Winners

Wednesday, November 7, 2018

Event Photos

  • Kerville-New-Folk_20181107_6831.jpg
  • Kerville-New-Folk_20181107_6833.jpg
  • Kerville-New-Folk_20181107_6835.jpg
  • Kerville-New-Folk_20181107_6837.jpg
  • Kerville-New-Folk_20181107_6840.jpg
  • Kerville-New-Folk_20181107_6853.jpg
LIVE @ 7:30 PM CDT

2018 Grassy Hill Kerrville New Folk Award Winners


Grassy Hill Kerrville New Folk Competition is a yearly event to discover promising singer-songwriters.  The competition was established in 1974 by Kerrville Folk Festival Founder Rod Kennedy and folk legend Peter Yarrow.  Thirty-two finalists are selected from a field of 800 entries to come to the Kerrville Folk Festival and share two of their original songs.  From these 32 finalists, six award winners are selected by a small group of well-established performing songwriters. 


A win at Kerrville carries considerable prestige in the singer-songwriter community.

2018 Grassy Hill Kerrville New Folk Award Winners performing at Fischer Fest 2018:


Sarah Morris (Minneapolis, Minnesota) www.sarahmorrismusic.com

Helene Cronin ( Plano,Texas) www.helenecronin.com

Mac Leaphart (Nashville, Tennessee) www.macleaphart.com

John Butler (Matlacha, Florida) www.johnrbutler.com

Rich Krueger (Evergreen Park, Illinois) www.richkrueger.com


Ben Bedford is also a 2018 Grassy Hill Kerrville New Folk Award winner, but was unable to perform with the group due to a previous commitment.

Blue Rock on TwitterBlue Rock on TwitterBlue Rock YouTube ChannelBlue Rock Facebook Page